FEDHASA announces winners of inaugural Hospitality Awards

by Tia

Cape Town was buzzing with excitement as the stars of South Africa’s hospitality scene descended upon the Century City Convention Centre for a night of glitz, glamour, and well-deserved recognition.

The stage was set, quite literally, for the inaugural FEDHASA Hospitality Awards, an event poised to become the highlight of the industry’s calendar. With the elegance of a finely crafted cocktail, FEDHASA Chairperson Rosemary Anderson welcomed guests and set the tone for an evening celebrating the very best in Southern African hospitality. As the applause subsided, the Honourable Minister of Tourism South Africa, Patricia de Lille, took the spotlight, emphasising the crucial role of the hospitality sector in showcasing the nation’s warmth and diversity to the world.

“Tonight, we raise our glasses not only to the exquisite experiences our industry offers but also to the unsung heroes who make them possible,” declared Minister de Lille, her words resonating like the gentle clinking of crystal stemware.

Amidst the anticipation, categories seldom acknowledged took centre stage, spotlighting the often-overlooked pillars of hospitality excellence. The room erupted in applause as Enara Muza’s journey from educator to Executive Housekeeper exemplified the industry’s ethos of growth and opportunity.

But beyond the glittering trophies and well-deserved accolades lay a deeper narrative; one of hope, ambition, and the transformative power of passion. “Tonight’s winners are more than just individuals; they are beacons of inspiration for the next generation,” remarked Anderson, her pride palpable in every word.

As the curtain fell on the inaugural FEDHASA Hospitality Awards, it left in its wake a resounding message: that amidst challenges, triumphs, and everything in between, the spirit of hospitality burns brighter than ever in the heart of South Africa. Here’s to the dreamers, the doers, and the difference-makers—may their stories inspire a legacy of excellence for generations to come.

The 2024 FEDHASA Hospitality Award winners are:

  • Culinary Excellence: Clinton Bonhomme, Durban ICC
  • Executive Housekeeper of the Year: Enara Muza, The Silo Hotel
  • Facilities Manager of the Year: Jannie Roos, Peermont Hotels, Casinos and Resorts
  • Food and Beverage Manager of the Year: Anika de Jongh, The Silo Hotel
  • Front of House Manager of the Year: Deborah Naicker, ANEW Hotel Hilton
  • Hospitality Technology Provider: Profitroom (Leigh Myles)
  • Hotel General Manager of the Year: Chris Godenir, The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel 
  • Leader of the Year: Denise Stubbs, Thokozani Wines
  • Manager of the Year – Business Support: David Masawi-McCann, The Silo Hotel
  • Restaurant General Manager of the Year: Gabrielle Roland, Century City Conference Centre and Hotels
  • Shared Prosperity (ED): Shireen Onia and Michelle Page, Service Gurus
  • Sustainability: David Pollock, Hotel Verde Cape Town
  • Young Professional of the Year: Kirsty Jamieson, Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit

FEDHASA also announced the induction of new members into its new FEDHASA Hall of Fame. These accolades recognise the remarkable contributions and lifetime achievements of hospitality industry stalwarts.

  • Arthur Gillis, Platinum Hospitality Holdings 
  • Clifford Ross, City Lodge Hotels
  • Nicky Fitzgerald, Angama

Lee-Anne Singer, Chairperson of FEDHASA Cape, encouraged all FEDHASA members to nominate their exemplary employees for the upcoming FEDHASA Hospitality Awards 2025. Nominations for 2025 will open on Monday, 2nd  September 2024.

You may also like

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!