by Media Xpose

The Muskadel SA Awards celebrated its return after three years with no less than four platinum winners and a new sponsor. This good news was announced during the 18th Muskadel SA Awards, sponsored by Vinochem, which was presented on Wednesday 24 May 2023 at Noop Restaurant in Paarl.

This year, Montagu Winery, Mont Blois Wine Estate, Nuy Winery, and Viljoensdrift Fine Wines were recognised for their older vintage muscadel, and received the highest prize, a platinum award. At the same time, five gold awards were given to three producers whose muscadel from younger vintages performed well, namely two gold prizes each to Bon Courage Estate and Du Toitskloof Wines, as well as one to Waboomsrivier Winery.

Platinum performers

Three producers kept Robertson Wine Valley’s name high, with three wines receiving a platinum award:

•       Mont Blois Wine Estate’s Mont Blois Pomphuis White Muscadel 2017, which comes from a 32-year-old vineyard,

•       Montagu Winery’s Muscat de Frontignan Single Vineyard (Red) 2016 in its distinctive, stylish jacket, and

•       Viljoensdrift Fine Wines’ Moscato Blanco 2016, a white muscadel which comes from a 60-year-old vineyard.

Located in the Nuy Valley near Worcester, Nuy Winery won a platinum award for its Barbieri Idro Rooi Muskadel 2015, a fortified Muscat de Frontignan matured for five years in oak barrels.

Gold awards

Young muscat wines compared well against the older generation, with five gold awards awarded to newer vintages. Bon Courage Estate, another performer from the Robertson Wine Valley, received two gold medals, for their White Muskadel 2022 and their Red Muskadel 2022.

The Breedekloof Valley lived up to its reputation as a muscadel region by winning three gold medals:

• Du Toitskloof Wines, a consistent performer over many years, received two gold medals, for their Red Muscadel 2020 as well as their Hanepoot Jerepigo 2021.

• Thewhite Wagenboom Muskadel 2021 from Waboomsrivier Winery, located on the R43 between Worcester and Ceres, was also awarded gold.

Judging process

This year’s judging panel, chaired by Cape Wine Master Bennie Howard, comprised wine consultant Altus le Roux, Cape Wine Master Raymond Noppé, wine expert Jaco Potgieter of Douglas Green Wines, and Melissa Rhode, wine sourcing manager of Heineken Beverages.

The wines are evaluated blind and scored using a tried-and-trusted point system. The distinctiveness of packaging is also considered when awarding points; it could be the difference between a gold or platinum award. Muscadel lovers can identify the winning wines in-store by looking for the Muskadel SA sticker on the bottle.

From the Muskadel SA headquarters

“We are grateful to be able to host the competition again, thanks to the industry that values ​​the awards and ensures its continued existence,” says Henri Swiegers, Chairman of Muskadel SA.

“Harvests are decreasing, but we hope that if the economy improves and producers can plant more muscadel, they will increase again. The fact that both our older and newer vintages performed well is encouraging; it provides a solid foundation for us in the future. The quality of South African muscadel remains excellent, and we were pleased with the entries we received this year,” Swiegers says.


This year, Vinochem came on board as the sponsor to give back to the industry and support their customers.

“South African muscadel is of very high quality and has the potential to reach a larger market,” says Marlee Malan of Vinochem. “Congratulations to all of the producers on their excellent performance.”

Join the chat on social media with the hashtag #MuskadelSAAwards – Twitter & Instagram @yolandidewetpr Facebook

For more information, contact Henri Swiegers on 082 829 6010 or

Front: Henri Swiegers (Muskadel SA chairperson), Marlee Malan (Vinochem)
Back: Shaun Thomson (DTK Wines), Tiaan Loubser (DTK Wines), Hermias Vollgraaff (Montagu Wines), Raymond Kirby (Mont Blois), Fred Viljoen (Viljoensdrift), Louis Martin (Nuy Winery), Lara Prins (Wagenboom) and Philip Viljoen (Bon Courage).

Front: Henri Swiegers (Muskadel SA chairperson), Marlee Malan (Vinochem)
Back: Hermias Vollgraaff (Montagu Wines), Raymond Kirby (Mont Blois), Fred Viljoen(Viljoensdrift) and Louis Martin (Nuy Winery).

You may also like

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!